Great news from the John Adams campaign today as Virginia law enforcement is rallying around his candidacy.

“As a first time candidate for office, it means a great deal to me to receive the support of so many of our finest law enforcement officials from all over Virginia,” said Adams. “Public safety will be a top priority when I am attorney general, including effectively combating the heroin and opioid crisis, fighting rising gang violence and violent crime, and ensuring our children and families are safe in their communities. Virginia’s sheriffs are critical to this work. And they will know that, as a former federal prosecutor and Naval officer, I will work as a team with them and have their backs every step of the way.”

In contrast, after four years of service as Virginia’s Attorney General, Herring has only merited 43 endorsements total from Virginia’s sheriffs, indicating that Virginia’s rank and file law enforcement are solidly behind Adams’ candidacy.

A list of the 47 sheriffs who have endorsed John Adams to date is below:

J.E. “Chip” Harding, Albemarle County (R)
Michael J. Brown, Bedford County (R)
Ronald N. Sprinkle, Botetourt County (R)
Brian K. Roberts, Brunswick County (I)
C. Ray Foster, Buchanan County (R)
W.G. “Billy” Kidd, Jr., Buckingham County (I)
Steve A. Hutcherson, Campbell County (I)
John B. “J.B.” Gardner, Carroll County (R)
Jim O’Sullivan, Chesapeake City (R)
Karl S. Leonard, Chesterfield County (R)
Bobby G. Hammons, Dickenson County (R)
Robert P. “Bob” Mosier, Fauquier County (R)
Brian J. Craig, Floyd County (R)
Darrell W. Warren, Jr., Gloucester County (R)
Richard A. Vaughan, Grayson County (I)
Steven S. Smith, Greene County (R)
David R. Hines, Hanover County (R)
Michael L. Wade, Henrico County (R)
Robert J. Deeds, James City County/Williamsburg City (R)
Steve F. Dempsey, King George County (I)
J.S. “Jeff” Walton, King William County (I)
Patrick McCranie, Lancaster County (R)
Gary B. Parsons, Lee County (R)
Michael L. Chapman, Loudoun County (R)
Donald T. Sloan, Lynchburg City (R)
L. Mark Barrick, Mathews County (I)
R.W. “Bobby” Hawkins, Jr., Mecklenburg County (I)
David P. Bushey, Middlesex County (I)
C.H. “Hank” Partin, Montgomery County (R)
James R. “Doc” Lyons, Northumberland County (I)
Michael W. “Mike” Taylor, Pittsylvania County (I)
Brad W. Nunnally, Powhatan County (I)
Glendell Hill, Prince William County (R)
Mark R. Armentrout, Radford City (R)
J. Eric Orange, Roanoke County (R)
Bryan F. Hutcheson, Rockingham County (R)
Timothy C. Carter, Shenandoah County (R)
J.B. “Jack” Stutts, Southhampton County (I)
David P. “DP” Decatur, Jr., Stafford County (R)
Matt Robertson, Staunton City (R)
Kenneth W. Stolle, Virginia Beach City (R)
Daniel T. McEathron, Warren County (R)
Joe Harris, Jr., Waynesboro City (R)
Les R. Taylor, Winchester City (R)
Ronnie Oakes, Wise County (R)
W. Keith Dunagan, Wythe County (R)
J.D. “Danny” Diggs, York County/Poquoson City (R)